Reps. Warren, Scripps, Smith, Barnett, Dean, Bauer, Byrnes, Constan, Donigan, LeBlanc, Lemmons, Liss, Neumann, Polidori, Switalski, Valentine, Lisa Brown and Leland offered the following resolution:

House Resolution No. 126.

A resolution to memorialize the United States Congress to enact the American Clean Energy and Security Act.

Whereas, The United States is currently facing historic energy and climate challenges, particularly in regards to climate change. Carbon dioxide emitted from coal-fired power plants and automobile tail pipes is warming the environment and threatening to wreak havoc on our climate, our environment, and our entire way of life. Federal government action on climate change is long overdue; and

Whereas, The Clean Energy and Security Act of 2009, introduced in the U.S. House of Representatives, lays the foundation for solving America's energy and climate challenges. The act would increase the use of renewable energy, spur the development of a "smart" power grid, promote electric vehicles, and require the implementation of energy efficiency measures. Most importantly, the act would reduce global warming pollution by putting firm limits on how much carbon dioxide can be emitted into the air. The Clean Energy and Security Act will put Americans back to work building, delivering, and installing the systems and technologies that will help us meet our climate and energy challenges; and

Whereas, The federal government must act quickly to develop and implement a clear climate policy. We are in a climate crisis that requires strong preventative and corrective measures. The Clean Energy and Security Act of 2009 is an important first step in moving the country to a much needed and sustainable green economy; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the House of Representatives, That we memorialize the United States Congress to enact the American Clean Energy and Security Act; and be it further

Resolved, That copies of this resolution be transmitted to the President of the United States Senate, the Speaker of the United States House of Representatives, and the members of the Michigan congressional delegation.